IMDb > Gods of Egypt (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Gods of Egypt
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Gods of Egypt More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 33:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 327 reviews in total 

262 out of 491 people found the following review useful:

Giant Production And A Giant Movie Too.

10/10
Author: HealthyLove from United States
1 March 2016

In this spectacular action-adventure inspired by the classic mythology of Egypt, the survival of mankind hangs in the balance as an unexpected mortal hero Bek (Brenton Thwaites) undertakes a thrilling journey to save the world and rescue his true love. In order to succeed, he must enlist the help of the powerful god Horus (Nikolaj Coaster-Waldau) in an unlikely alliance against Set (Gerard Butler), the merciless god of darkness, who has usurped Egypt's throne, plunging the once peaceful and prosperous empire into chaos and conflict. As their breathtaking battle against Set and his henchmen takes them into the afterlife and across the heavens, both god and mortal must pass tests of courage and sacrifice if they hope to prevail in the epic final confrontation.

Was the above review useful to you?

132 out of 238 people found the following review useful:

I just liked it...

10/10
Author: westplainsmom
19 May 2016

Seeing some of the reviews online, I wonder if people just watch a movie while relaxing anymore. I thought this movie had great effects, a pretty good story line, and very likable characters. I even liked the bad guys. I see many people commented that the cast was too 'white'. Do they bitch about Star Wars people being too 'human'? Come on people, this is fantasy. It is OK to have 13 foot tall 'gods' walking around as long as they are ethnically correct??? Do you think Egypt really looked like that in those days? This is a fairy tale. Not real life. Just like the tales of the bible. Sit down and enjoy a movie once in a while. Don't try to nit-pick through the whole movie! And for Christ's sake, RELAX once in a while!

Was the above review useful to you?

250 out of 486 people found the following review useful:

Excellent Movie Named Kings Of Egypt In Arabian Countries.

10/10
Author: bostonwera from United States
29 February 2016

Gods of Egypt is a 2016 fantasy film featuring ancient Egyptian deities. The United States-Australia production is directed by Alex Proyas and stars Nikolaj Coaster-Waldau, Brenton Thwaites, Chadwick Boseman, Elodie Yung, Courtney Eaton, Rufus Sewell, with Gerard Butler and Geoffrey Rush. Butler plays the god of darkness Set who takes over the Egyptian empire, and Thwaites plays the mortal hero Bek who partners with the god Horus, played by Coaster-Waldau, to save the world and rescue his love.

Filming took place in Australia under the American studio Summit Entertainment. While the film's production budget was $140 million, the parent company Lionsgate's financial exposure was less than $10 million due to tax incentives and pre-sales. The Australian government provided a tax credit for 46% of the film's budget. When Lionsgate began promoting the film in November 2015, it received backlash for its predominantly white cast playing Egyptian characters. In response, Lionsgate and director Alex Proyas apologized for the lack of casting diversity.

Lionsgate released Gods of Egypt in theaters globally starting on February 25, 2016 in 2D, RealD 3D, and IMAX 3D. It released the film in the United States, Canada, and 68 other markets on February 26, 2016 and will release it in the United Kingdom on April 8, 2016.

The survival of mankind hangs in the balance when Set (Gerard Butler), the merciless god of darkness, usurps Egypt's throne and plunges the prosperous empire into chaos and conflict. Hoping to save the world and rescue his true love, a defiant mortal named Bek (Brenton Thwaites) forms an unlikely alliance with the powerful god Horus (Nikolaj Coaster-Waldau). Their battle against Set and his henchmen takes them into the afterlife and across the heavens for an epic confrontation.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

How Vain Do You Think I Am?

7/10
Author: ArchAngel Michael from Quis Ut Deus?
20 June 2016

Spoilers Ahead:

Yes, before I begin my philosophical review, which may bore you to tears if you are disinclined to abstract bloviating, this movie works as pure spectacle. The CGI is well done and the parallel intertwined stories of Bek, the lowly thief, seeking his dead beloved's return from the afterlife and Horus's battle against Set work well as a fast moving action movie. For me, the attraction was such a rare thing to be found here in pagan land. The learning to trust the gods, there is a parallel between transcending selfish quests for vengeance as Horus learns to see his Kingdom and its people. The zenith of the morality is reached when the victorious Horus announces that deeds not wealth lead to the reward in the afterlife. He rescinds Set's demand for treasure to buy yourself immortality, this is not an anomaly. The movie follows the existential development of both lead protagonists: Horus and Bek. Both begin the movie oblivious to their responsibilities, even Osiris looks a bit dubious in presenting his son with the crown. As Bek learns to trust Horus, and Horus learns to care for these smaller, relatively insignificant creatures, the characters deepen and grow as the movie plays. The restoration of the moral order with rectitude set above profit evinces the reflective allegorical disenchantment of Americans' with their oligarchs and their dwindling spending power will open up to you.

The movie is an extremely fast paced action movie that will never bore you. Butler's Set has no problem cheating constantly to obtain and maintain power. It is a rare villain role for Butler, I thought he rendered it well. The parallel development of the two main characters learning to work together against Set is the center of the movie. It comes with a rather miraculous happy ending that I won't spoil for you. The effects are uniformly well done but there are many bad movies this is true of also. Why I liked the movie, is Bek's love that simply knows no boundaries for returning to his lost Zaya. The story of the wounded Horus who learns his strength comes from inside, not from his eyes, parallel's the human Bek's story. This weaving together of the two, with good banter between them, is the surprise of the movie. The narrative core of the movie is these two stories of the leads: Horus and Bek. I liked the movie as pure spectacle yet it is not vapid and brainless. There is a moral depth to it that gives it greater meaning than most current action movies. Movies are always reflections of their zeitgeist, as a philosopher I found it reassuring: this rejection of wealth as a sign of ontological value; believe me, this is not a commonality in modern American cinema.

One can but hope it is a harbinger of a coming rejection of the Global Oligarch's god: Money. Bek's love that is an unstoppable force wins even the admiration of the gods around him. True, his proclivity for survival irritates the arrogant god of knowledge who speaks the above funniest line in the entire movie. Horus is best viewed in contrast from the lazy sybarite we meet at the beginning and the one, at the very end, who departs imitating Bek in returning to the Underworld to find his lost love. This is the hidden treasure, my friends: love, duty, honor and goodness really aren't punchlines but they are the beauty of life. As I look about me, how much happier my fellow denizens would be if they shed this decadent need to crap upon all that is beautiful in this life. Yes, action fans, the movie won't let you down, I wasn't bored for one minute. My elder brother sat upon the edge of his seat most of the movie. Yes, fly through the Fires Of Hell to find that Love you lost. A Good Movie. Q.E.D.

"We Travel The World Over To Find Beauty, Unless We Carry It With Us We Find It Not." Ralph Waldo Emerson

Was the above review useful to you?

79 out of 145 people found the following review useful:

It's not a documentary, it's a fantasy/action entertainer!

9/10
Author: parveenchandra11 from Delhi
27 February 2016

Yes, yes, the actors playing Gods of Egypt are white! Guess what, they're not speaking Coptic either! Gasp! (yes, I had to google what the closest live language to ancient Egyptian was >_<).

I do believe it is understood that this story is an adaptation of ancient Egyptian beliefs and characters (gods and goddesses, afterlife, etc). So yes, they pick and choose what parts they want in a (very) westernized tale...

And I did think that they did a good job. For the ancient Egyptians, the gods did walk amongst the living. The king was supposed to be the living embodiment of the god Horus. So the storyline is not really that far-fetched.

As for the acting, most of the cast is pretty good. Horus was a slight let down. It's as if they wanted Aaron Eckhart, but had to make do with this guy. (Gerard Butler and Aaron Eckhart are in London Has Fallen). And the girl playing Zaya. I guess that was her character? to be "sweet" and steadfast in loyalty, both to her husband and to her God. Still, every time she came on screen, I thought the ancient Egyptians had great push-up technology. Seth and Hathor were great (Gerard Butler and Elodie Yung). Geoffrey Rush does justice to his role (as always). Brenton Thwaite (the mortal/the thief) wasn't so bad either.

It's a sweet story overall. And entertaining! Lovely CGI on top of it. I enjoyed it :). I wouldn't recommend it to scholars of ancient Egypt. But even they would appreciate the nod to mythological characters in this fiction piece :D.

Disclaimer: I left pretty much the exact same review on rottentomatoes. I don't normally leave reviews, but this movie is getting a bad rep, and unfairly! It happens to be one of the better movies out there right now.

Was the above review useful to you?

69 out of 126 people found the following review useful:

Why are the reviews so low?? Great Movie

10/10
Author: jmandawg from United States
22 May 2016

This was a actually a pretty epic movie. Probably more like an 8 or 9 out of 10, but i have to level out some of the reviews that really dogged this movie. You have to go into this knowing it is a fantasy movie. And it's pretty darn good. Great story, and satisfying ending. Do yourself a favor and don't pay attention to the overall score, just go and see it.

There were some unexpected twist and turns. The Director definitely didn't cut any corners. There was some pretty good CGI, as well as some OK CGI. Overall though it was good. Hopefully there will be a sequel.

Costumes and acting were good, I know people complained about whitewashing, but really who cares. I know i don't make enough money to care.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Keeping Up With The Kardashians

3/10
Author: Modern Monsters from modernmonsters.net
21 September 2016

In movies there are the good, the bad and the ugly. This one takes the cake of the latter, eats it, digests it, evacuates it and proudly shows off the result on screen. In other words, it's crap.

Not only pilfering the Egyptian pantheon but unable to make anything of it, Gods of Egypt pictures its titular characters like temperamental imbeciles, almighty beings only able to settle their quarrels by way of bad one-liners and fisticuffs. They are helpless fools, a bit like the Windsors, but working out, and very tall. They also are modular and bleed gold.

In order of appearance, please meet Osiris (Bryan Brown) who's about to crown his son Horus (Nicolaj Coaster-Waldau) king, because that's what immortal gods do, in front of a large crowd of which we'll follow only two humans, Thief of Baghdad Bek and his girlfriend Zaya, "beauty of the Nile", according to the poster. Argh. Osiris' brother Set (not Seth, since Gerard Butler can't spell), until then relegated to the desert, crashes the party, kills his brother and enucleates Horus, whose all-seeing eyes do not prove very effective on that instance. Horus is not killed thanks to Hathor, the Goddess of Love.

We are treated to other divine cameos, like Ra, the God of Sun (poor Geoffrey Rush, slumming) driving a celestial pedalo in hot pursuit of Apophis, the Night Snake, or like Thoth, the God of Knowledge (Chadwick Boseman), who's black, gay and a comic relief as he lives amidst clones of himself. Oh, and he's God of Wisdom, since the writers have no knowledge whatsoever of their subject matter: the thief will save the day while Gods bicker at each other. He's the audience, see, the one we can identify with.

CGI is constant, allowing pyramids to grow like mushrooms. Egyptians can't build robust architecture but they are a very innovative people, inventing things like the umbrella or the elevator. Godly traps prove childishly easy to avoid. The Afterlife is crowded like a peak hour subway. It is, all in all, super easy to kill a God.

Dialogue is abysmal, from the Sphinx saying anything but "Bummer!" when his riddle is solved to anything regarding Hathor. "Ah, you are not so good, Goddess of Love" deserves to join another pantheon, the one of worst movie lines ever. She answers in kind "I am the Goddess of too much!". Well, rutabaga.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

SURPRISE: Actually quite good!

9/10
Author: the_wolf_imdb from Prague
20 July 2016

Do not trust "movie professionals" who know nothing about the Kemet - the original ancient Egyptian religion. Yes, this is an action movie. Yes, it diverges a lot from canonical ancient Egyptian religion. Yes, it is "too white" for ancient Egypt. Yes, there is a mixture of Hellenic interpretation which kinda does not fit in. Building an "Super Seth"? A pure nonsense.

But you know what? It does not matter as it captures the spirit of Kemet pretty well. Seth versus Horus? Oh yes. Flat Earth with day side and night side and never ending fight of Ra with Apopis? Yes. Debates between the humans and gods leading to sort of understanding and sort of tolerance? Yes. Nepthys, the wife of Seth, "excellent goddess",protective goddess, feeling sadness for people dying? Yes. Multiple Thowt servants, mapping the knowledge? Yes! (Please do complain, black racist people here: Black Thowt is displayed respectfully here!) Hathor, "cursed by love"? Yes! Isis, the super model of double betraying women that will betray her son to betray his enemy to allow her son win? The nasty manipulating goddess that is so sensitive to people in love? Oh yes! Anubis, the inert god that feels nothing towards gods of men yet fights for the order of the underworld? Yes! Lots of action in between Egyptian gods? Oh hell yes! Actually I do appreciate the effort to capture the feeling of Kemet. Yes, this is not the Kemet. But considering all the alternatives I have ever seen, this is the very best. Actually, the Christian overtones of God understanding the nature of suffering the mortals are not damaging, they are helping! Dear "professional" reviewers! Any single of you who reviewed this movie less than 40% - please ask me for a diploma that certifies you have sh*t for brains, you know sh*t of history, culture and you should focus on movies like The Independence Day. In such movies your cultural ignorance has no distortive value.

For all others: This is a fairy tale. An American fairy tale. But the American fairy tale that has *the feel* for the dynamic of ancient Egyptian religion. It is an excellent movie, it is fun, full of action and actually does not insult ancient Egyptian religion.

Was the above review useful to you?

96 out of 188 people found the following review useful:

loved it

10/10
Author: Rachael lblake from United States
2 March 2016

I just saw Gods of Egypt with my 5th and 7th grade boys on 3D Imax, and we loved it! An original movie for a change, not a sequel, or prequel, or reboot, or franchise, or comic book adaptation, or spin-off film. This movie had very striking visuals, sweeping music, fun acting and action sequences, and engaging characters. It moved along very briskly, despite its slightly long run time. We had no difficulty following the plot (which is certainly no less plausible or linear than Episode VII!) or understanding who the somewhat unfamiliar Egyptian mythological characters were as some reviews suggested we might. There was a nice character arc for Horus, and even a thoughtful message from the gods to humankind at the end. Ethnically inaccurate casting choices--yeah, it would have been nice to see a more authentic cast, but these actors got the job done, and that is no reason to skip the movie if you like this sort of film, in my opinion. Give this film a chance, you may enjoy it much more than you expect!

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 81 people found the following review useful:

a well made film with messages

9/10
Author: mik s from Greece
6 March 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I enjoyed the film a lot and i think it is different from other similar themes and productions about ancient mythology.

Four things attracted my attention and impressed me..

1. the body size of gods compared to mortals..they are bigger but not gigantic..this was planned to emphasize the superiority of these beings to humans..the only thing is not explained, is where they came from.

2. the flat earth disk as is shown for some seconds and the way the sun behaves(very interesting).

3. the after life world, Anubis and the price for immortality until then.

4. the Horus message at the end, which is very important and explains a lot.

As for the rest of the film.. the story was well placed , the effects were very nice, the filming good, the photography impressing and the character depth satisfying..

As for the actors, the main characters here were three..Set, Horus and Bek...the most important in my opinion was Bek, because Bek was there to show , that even a God -power being without the humans, is helpless ...Set' s performance although a little overacting from Butler, was better than Horus ..the rest actors were convincing ...the whole film is in general very original and worths its money... i admire the previous works of Proyas and respect him for his advanced ideas in screen..

As a conclusion, i say this film is very entertaining

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 33:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history