IMDb > Hardcore Henry (2015) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Hardcore Henry
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Hardcore Henry More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 27:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 264 reviews in total 

260 out of 326 people found the following review useful:

To The Negative Reviews, What Else Were You Expecting?

8/10
Author: Bourne07
8 April 2016

Wow, seeing some of these reviews really made me laugh. "Generic, it's the exact same thing as if you were playing a FPS game!" Maybe those who are saying those things saw a different trailer than me? This movie is exactly what it was promoted to be. An hour and thirty six minutes of a lot of violence, jokes, and well, shakiness. Within the first 30 minutes of the movie, many people walked out murmuring to themselves "this is stupid, my head hurts" and I really questioned why they even bought a ticket in the first place if watching a shaky camera hurts your head? Why did a group of middle aged women go see this, and leave shortly after? DID YOU STUMBLE UPON THE WRONG MOVIE?

Besides my little rant, I most definitely recommend this movie. I am not a major fan of FPS games, but having the entire movie filmed with Go Pro's, along with the great action made this a very fun and enjoyable movie. It doesn't take itself seriously, as it knows exactly what it is. As much as I hate when people say this, it is one of those movies where you really can turn your brain off and enjoy it.

I smiled throughout the entire movie, and though the trailers show some really cool shots from the movie, there is still plenty of fun in the movie to where you really do not get bored one bit. The park-our scenes are truly something else as well, with major respect to the stunt- men who did their job perfectly. The music choice was also something that I truly enjoyed, it fit the movie very well. The acting, while little of it, was passable and did not really strike me as "bad."

If you are a person who can't stand something like the Bourne movies for their shaky cam, do not see this. If you love action movies and really want to admire great fight scenes and plenty of mayhem, go see this.

And for those saying the idea is not original, yes, movies shot in first person are not original. But for an action movie of this caliber, I would say it is an experience that is definitely worth it.

Was the above review useful to you?

224 out of 307 people found the following review useful:

TIFF 2015 -- Hardcore: Just plain fun

10/10
Author: Brap-2 from Toronto, Canada
13 September 2015

'Hardcore' is the riveting story of a newly-made cyborg who must save his wife from evil tyrants and...wait a minute. Who cares?? The whole movie is a blast!!

Ilya Naishuller is a young director who had a very cool idea to shoot an action film from a first-person perspective using a GoPro Hero3 Black Edition camera. The proof of concept was released as "Biting Elbows: Bad Motherf***er". It was pitched publicly and helped to successfully crowd-fund the feature, 'Hardcore'.

It's better to keep this short and sweet: the film is extraordinarily violent; not for the squeamish. It has plenty of action, free-running, stunts, and plenty of room for comedic elements. Even the opening titles give you a taste of what's to come!

Sharlto Copley (District 9, and other Neill Blomkamp projects) plays the main POV's assistant throughout the film. Copley definitely gives a range of character performances and is quality. Wearing many hats, he guides you along as if you were needing assistance in a video game, which, by the way, this film makes several references to. In particular, the Chernobyl level in Call of Duty 4 with Capt. MacMillian. Even the opening scenes are reminiscent of Half-Life, and a lot of the free-running scenes are inspired by Mirror's Edge.

For those who are wondering, no. You likely won't get dizzy watching a 90-minute action film from an FP perspective. Well, maybe you shouldn't sit in the front row. Otherwise, you will have a blast.

'Hardcore' is an all-around fun time. Just be okay with the violence. It's only 90 minutes of your time that you'll likely want to experience over and over again. Or, you'll just want to plug in a play a few games.

Either way, it's bloody fun!

Was the above review useful to you?

205 out of 298 people found the following review useful:

First Person Shooter - The Movie

10/10
Author: Jim McGinley from Canada
13 September 2015

* Spoiler Free *

Just saw this at TIFF 2015 Midnight Madness. Judging by the constant applause and laughter throughout, the audience LOVED it. I thought it was truly INCREDIBLE and genuinely new... a landmark film. Hopefully that will be recognized without hindsight. I believe Hardcore has the chance to be Star Wars for this generation... or perhaps a Terminator or a Reservoir Dogs. I'm writing this to help ensure that happens. Context: I also thought Crank was great.

The ENTIRE movie takes place in FIRST PERSON point of view (POV). ALL 90 MINUTES. It never gets old and the POV remains a strength throughout. I never got motion sickness (and the movie moves fast - incredibly fast). After the movie, the director mentioned the Vimeo short would be unwatchably choppy on the big screen. 2 engineers spent 2 months creating a special rig with 2 magnetically stabilized GoPros to shoot the film. This new rig is the reason why the audience didn't get motion sickness.

I've never seen action like this. It's not just regular action scenes filmed in first person. It's superheroic parkour, fantastical fights, and video game gunplay all presented in first person. Seen from a regular angle, the action would likely be too cartoonish. The POV helps ground everything, making it more believable. Added Bonus: During many scenes you'll wonder how the POV camerman didn't get killed.

Hardcore is incredibly violent, but rarely nasty. People who play modern FPS's will not bat an eye, others will be shocked and appalled. Expect a lot of controversy when the older crowd expresses grave concern about this film, while the younger crowd rallies behind it. Expect marketing to exploit this generation gap.

Action aside, the movie has an unexpected sense of humour. Some driven by situations, some driven by characters, some thanks to the POV. There's not a lot, but what is there is gold - and a relief during all that action.

The main character, despite never appearing, is able to communicate a personality. I believe FPSs will steal the ideas presented here. The circle is complete.

Which brings me to Jimmy (Sharlto Copley)... Can't say much but he's easily as compelling as the action. His interactions with our hero (the POV) are not straightforward, and always intriguing. Somehow they form a bond, which winds up unexpectedly touching. Before the movie Sharlto said it was the craziest, hardest role he's ever done and it's easy to see why.

The bad? The overall plot is good but not great. The bad guy, beyond being powerful and evil, has less character than the POV. Despite some attempts, women are relegated to lesser roles. (I believe the good far FAR outweighs the bad)

Russian Hollywood has created the best first person shooter ever made. When POV becomes the new bullet time, you can thank Hardcore.

Was the above review useful to you?

161 out of 240 people found the following review useful:

Amazingly Awesome!!! New Genre!

10/10
Author: hopeseekr from Houston, United States
7 April 2016

This movie is INSANELY awesome!!!

If I could rate it a 20, I would, just from the shear story telling, character investment and novel first-person POV, not to mention all the video game tropes, puns, and long shots!!

At least 90% of the movie are long shots, that's how well it was directed!

It contains a LOT of elements from Counter Strike, Modern Warfare, Half- Life 2, Portal and Mirrors Edge, so if you like those games, you should absolutely love this movie!

It has a LOT of gore in it, so I wouldn't recommend it to the squeamish, but if you're a high-octane true-blooded alpha male like myself, you should absolutely love it!

Was the above review useful to you?

102 out of 157 people found the following review useful:

It's like driving a race car as fast as it will go... so fun you can't stop smiling

10/10
Author: Jim Dandy from DC
7 April 2016

I went into this with no preconceived expectations. I saw the trailer, it looked interesting, I went.

I wasn't disappointed. Whether this is a commercial hit or a flop, it will be a cult film forever. It's an instant classic for no other reason than it's just so damn fun.

Your best bet to enjoy this movie is to see it as an experience and not as art. Don't ask questions about characters background or whine when they don't explain random biker chicks with samurai swords... it just doesn't matter. I eat ice cream because I like ice cream... I don't pick through it during dessert.

Was the above review useful to you?

103 out of 163 people found the following review useful:

Best action movie that I saw

10/10
Author: rodrig58
9 April 2016

Not worth 18 certificate on the grounds of violence, I've seen more violent movies in my life for almost 58 years(I'm born in 1958 and I'm watching movies from when I was 3 years old). And I have seen thousands of films, almost all from 1961 onward and thousands of movies made before I was born. In terms of action, Hardcore Henry has the highest level of adrenaline, pure adrenaline, the highest quality. Now I believe that people, not all of them, only some people, can levitate. I'm kidding, of course. But everything is so well done in this film, that it almost seems truthful. The stunts are downright breathless. But not only. All actors, music, editing, everything. It makes you want to see it again and again, to understand it and feel better. An exceptional film, excellent. Ilya Naishuller, I want to work with you! And, to answer to a guy here on IMDb, concerning the problem he has with the stupid "dance routine" in the middle, I don't know Ilya Naishuller but, I'm almost sure that he wanted to pay homage to Stanley Kubrick's A Clockwork Orange (1971), a film in exactly the same kind, a masterpiece of the genre, a film about violence and how violence can be cured. Remember the dance scene of Alex DeLarge (Malcolm McDowell) to the tune Singin 'in the Rain? Maybe Ilya Naishuller will tell us... 10 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

96 out of 150 people found the following review useful:

Stunningly fun. Like playing a great video game without dying to get things just right.

9/10
Author: shaidarharan from NC, USA
7 April 2016

I was definitely already a fan of the Biting Elbows music video that gave rise, but was unprepared for the roller coaster of awesome that doesn't let up for 90 minutes. I don't know if it was the 98 foot Frank's FDX screen or just a more attached rig, but some of the action was shaky and a little hard to follow, especially when Henry would get moved or tossed around. Without a sense of motion, you can lose your bearings. Being an avid FPS gamer will really help here. I'd recommend not filling your vision to the periphery with the screen (like the front 1/3rd point, where I sat) and choose a middle screen height position, which will make it more like a computer monitor experience. That said, I still found it easier to follow then the hand to hand combat in the early Bourne films, and more enjoyable. The audio is a blast with a good system, so don't wait until it gets to the crappy 30 seat theaters with the turned down speakers the megaplexes seem to tuck away in unused corners.

Sharlto Copley is extremely fun to watch in this film and did a great job not being the same character in District 9, and Elysium, proving far far from it (not a fan of Chappie, but he did well in that too).

There are so many oo, ahh, wow, and shock moments in this film. I really want to see a sequel and would definitely be happy to help fund it if they go that route again.

I think I will be seeing this again.

tldr: if you grew up with or are a fan of FPS games, this movie is amazingly fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

87 out of 138 people found the following review useful:

Wild Ride of Gore and Humor

9/10
Author: marielemelle from United States
31 March 2016

I must say "Look out Quentin Tarantino!" What a crazy ride! Director/Writer Ilya Naishuller is hardcore and takes shootouts to a different level.

I loved the camera movement but it does take some getting used to. Overall, it was entertaining in a gory way and the splattering of humor made the gore a little more tolerable.

One scene with the subtitles overlapping (not sure if on purpose) was interesting and funny because it was a 3-person conversation - whiny and catty - all talking at the same time.

If you like Jason Statham and Quentin Tarantino action and shock value, you will love it!

Was the above review useful to you?

97 out of 161 people found the following review useful:

Extrimly fu**ing awesome

10/10
Author: Vasia Ermilov from Russia
8 April 2016

Why you should definitely go to Hardcore Henry: 1. This is the best action movie of the year, and probably in general. Remember the wonderful impressions of the scene in the church in the movie "Kingsmen"? So here are the impressions almost the entire movie. 2. The director obviously loves Tarantino, fine jokes, blood abundance and diversity of murder. sometimes people in the cinema was just hysterical. 3. Great soundtrack, which brought even a song by Queen. 4. The plot, though not perfect, but it was much better than expected. 5. Sharlto Copley rocks. 6. Lots of interesting cameo, even Tim Roth. 7. The film was made for just $ 2 000 000, and it Exceeds "Adrenaline" and "Raid". 8. The film was shot in Moscow. Very cool to watch the action taking place. 9. The film contains a lot of dirty jokes, plenty of jokes is based on the obscene vocabulary. 10. A number of references to (and not only) the gaming industry.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

90 minutes of all the miserable trends in action movies

Author: Mr-Fusion from United States
31 August 2016

"Hardcore Henry" is exactly what the trailers promised:a First Person Shooter on the big screen. If you're that sort of gamer, I'm sure this is candy - but it never gets beyond that gimmick to tell a good story. The camera-work is good for driving scenes. But for fistfights, running and parkour? Hell, no!

I'm not rating this movie because it's not like I didn't know what was in store going in. Mildly curious, sure, but it has FPS written all over it from the start. Even so, I doubt I'll ever see this again. Here's a much better way to describe it. You know those Let's Play videos on YouTube? This is *exactly* like that. You're watching a video game that someone else is playing. Where's the appeal in that?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 27:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history