IMDb > Fan (2016/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Fan
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Fan More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 30:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 292 reviews in total 

243 out of 397 people found the following review useful:

Well, it was something. The SRK what I grew up watching

10/10
Author: kamran_3012 from United Arab Emirates
14 April 2016

FAN is Shah Rukh Khan's best performance till date. His Aryan Khanna is Excellent but his Gaurav Chandana is better. This is the SRK I grew up watching. He can't really top this one. Kudos to the VFX and the prosthetic team for the make up. Maneesh Sharma's direction was brilliant. The story is different. The dialogues are very very good. Habib Faisal has done a good job with the dialogues. The costumes are dope for Gaurav . The editing is crisp and the screenplay is Fantastic. The movie has no songs(That was a bummer) The cinematography was exceptional, great locations. Since, the movie is completely focused on Aryan and Gaurav, the supporting cast don't have much to do. It's good seeing a movies like this is being made. Something different.

It won't be a great success at the Box Office as it's a dark movie.

The flaw what I found was the Special Effects in the first Chase Sequence- You'll notice it.

Well one of the best movies SRK has ever acted in. 9ish/10

Was the above review useful to you?

66 out of 107 people found the following review useful:

For every person who is a fan of someone.

10/10
Author: Sultan Bhaijaan from India
15 April 2016

First of all,I must say the movie is outstanding in all aspects.Though I am not a fan of this actor but I should say that he has done a very nice acting in both the roles of Aryan Khanna and Gaurav Chandana. Specially, the role of gaurav chandana as a fan is fabulous. The story is unique in a Bollywood and well scripted too. The screenplay is very well maintained and full of excitement. The only thing I wonder about is that it has very comical scenes in a first half and some darker side and intense scenes full of emotions in a second half. Although it is a good combination and actor well maintained the balance between two roles. I have not seen such a great acting in any of his past movies like dilwale, happy new year and chennai express. But this time, he has done exceptionally well and may be best performance of his life. I would not tell you whole story here. You just go and watch the movie.It is not only for shahrukh khan fans. Everyone of us is a fan of someone.

Was the above review useful to you?

61 out of 99 people found the following review useful:

Fan is all about SRK

9/10
Author: secretgames21
15 April 2016

Fan is all about SRK, His acting skills we have been talking for so long and we grown watching him, Fan is one of the fantastic display of Shahrukh's on Screen Acting Talent, He surely deserve Best actor nominations and trophy, There are some flaws in the movie but still it keep moving you on..This was the first bollywood movie which got shot in Madam Tussads Museum, There are lot good things to talk about, the chase between SRK and his Fan Gaurav is also impressive, You will not feel bored at any point of time.. So please go ahead and watch the movie I am sure you will have a good thing to watch..

Thanks

Was the above review useful to you?

77 out of 131 people found the following review useful:

All hail the king, The actor in SRK.

9/10
Author: madhurmsm-1999 from India
16 April 2016

So FAN isn't your typical run-of-the-mill, commercial potboiler (read: the last couple of SRK films)

It is absurd, psychic, weird, cryptic, and oh-so-darned-intriguing.

The concept is simple "The fans maketh the star", but the execution is complex and just so bamboozling.

There is a reason why Shah Rukh Khan is known for his intense roles. This film brings back the menacing Darr-Baazigar-Anjaam-esque SRK back and he is pure masterclass.

You may love him. You may hate him. But you can't help but admire the guy's acting ability.

The film drags a bit in the second-half, and sways away from reality for a sizeable amount of time, but you can still make do with it.

Aryan Khanna is the name of the narcissistic superstar in the film. But when you come out of the theatre, the immensely insane yet innocent Gaurav Chandana baffles your mind.

This film is not everyone's cup of tea. Some people might deliberately hate it, but hey, that is the persona of SRK. The most polarising actor ever.

Thank You Maneesh Sharma for bringing back "The Actor SRK" whom we desperately missed since My Name Is Khan. Kudos to the team for choosing something so risky and so brave.

Films like these are not made for Huge Box Office Collections, they are made for sheer uniqueness.

You may agree with me. You may disagree with me. All I would like to say is "Rehnede, Tu Nahi Samjhega".

#FAN

Was the above review useful to you?

107 out of 198 people found the following review useful:

Mindblowing Acting By SRK

8/10
Author: Adarsh Bohra from Winterfell North Of Westworld
14 April 2016

After Watching This Movie,First Words Will Come out from your Mouth will be"Shahrukh me tera jabra Fan Ho Gya". This Movie Has A Uniuqe Drama with very different story along with fantafabulous acting Of The Shahrukh Khan in His role as Gaurav Specially. The Srk'Acting In The Film is what called the real acting and performance,i was speechless after watching Dedication Of SRK A 50 Year Actor Playing The Role of 21 Year Young Boy With That Level Of Energy. I Do Appreciate Manish Sharma The Director Of The Fan Movie & Excellent Screenplay from begging to end,tempo of the movie is well Maintained.Direction Was Fantastic In First Half,But Story Goes Little Off Plot In 2nd Half. Oscar Winning Wizard Greg Cannom (Hollywood's special makeup effects artist),and the rest of the team gave Their Best. Shahrukh Khan Has Shown Encyclopedia Of Acting,Srk's Acting in this Movie Is Jaw Dropping,It's Just Above The Common Man Imagination. I Watched A Bollywood Movie After Almost 2 Years And it was totally worth it,& I was compelled To come here and give Review Because In Bollywood You Don't't See This Type Of Acting Every Often So Guys Go And Must Watch This Movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

63 out of 111 people found the following review useful:

One of the best Bollywood i have seen!!

10/10
Author: Paul Chow from Canada
16 April 2016

To be honest i am not a bollywood fan by any means. I mean i cannot handle all those songs, and fighting scenes with the mushy gushy love things that never seem to happen in real life. Today was actually the first time that i went to watch a movie in a theatre for a bollywood movie. I will say that i did watch bollywood movies before (on DVD), but most of them were beyond my thinking. For example Prem Ratan Dhan Payo - which was the worst movie till date, oh i almost forgot Dilwale. So it was a great experience to see Bollywood establish itself this year by directing and producing movies that are different and that doesn't follow commercial success.

I did not know who Shah Rukh Khan was, i mean here in Canada the only people we know is our sports stars or Hollywood superstars. Never really cared about Bollywood, but this movie opened my eyes. Doing some research i figured out that Shah Rukh Khan is the biggest star in the world and i was hell shocked. I guess he really deserves that because his acting is superb.

A good actor is a person that brings out the emotions and he just did that. If his duplicate would cry, i would cry. If he was happy, i felt happy. I really want to applaud him on that.

The story too me was 8/10, other 2 was for his acting. The first half is very engaging and touching. A person does not want to leave to the bathroom because they didn't want to miss anything. Second half was OK, some unreal stuff happen but i can live with that because who knows, maybe this events could happen. It kind of is inspired from that baseball fan movie thing. I would know i love the San Fransisco Giants.

Its a great one time watch, everyone should go and just try something new. I am not too sure why people are giving this a 1 star because i know to me on a person bases this is the BEST bollywood movie i have ever seen

Was the above review useful to you?

52 out of 91 people found the following review useful:

The Movie which unearths the ACTOR SRK.....finally

10/10
Author: Sunny Roy from India
16 April 2016

After a long time, finally a SRK movie that propelled me to take some time out and write up a post.

To begin with, FAN, by no means is a perfect and flawless movie (more on that later), but what the movie has successfully achieved is to unearth the untapped ACTOR out from the catacombs of mediocrity that has thus hindered the transition of THE STAR to an ACTOR.

Director Maneesh Sharma, who also claims to be a big SRK fan himself, surely knows that the general audience wants to see more than rhythmic extension of arms from the MAN who once gave extremely nuanced and balanced portrayals in Swades and CDI. And hereby comes the movie FAN which can be any actor's dream role. From an uncouth and lovable Gaurav Chandana to a shrewd, realistic Aryan Khanna, it was hard to imagine that the same actor did play both the characters and that too with so much attention to detail. There are quite a few scenes that leaves you in awe of the exemplary display of Acting and makes you wonder "where was this SRK hiding for so long?" Kudos to the Director for taking this bold step of making the movie without any songs, heroines or as a matter of fact any comic scenes as well. It is just one man show from beginning to end laced with some superlative performance.

Now coming to the flip side, at least for me, are the 3 exceptionally well designed and seemingly never-ending chase sequences which somewhat dilutes the impact. But again I see others really praising those sequences (so it depends on the taste I assume). Another glaringly noticeable point is the contrastingly different approaches to handle the 1st and 2nd halves. In the first half, the makers tried to keep the narrative as much close to reality as possible but in the 2nd half, Maneesh Sharma played it to the gallery where logic takes a backseat, but the sequences concerned are certainly thrilling and creepy enough to keep you glued to your seats.

Lastly the climax which might receive extreme opinions, but I personally loved the ending.

To conclude, this is not one of the best performance of SRK, rather his career best performance. And the movie might not earn big bucks because of its dark, grim and creepy undertones but will surely earn the love of moviegoers.

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 101 people found the following review useful:

Fanatic.....Fantastic....FAN!!

9/10
Author: Mir Danish from Kolkata
15 April 2016

Movie review Fanatic.....Fantastic....FAN!! Rarely we see a mainstream Indian film breaking boundaries of the typical stereotype. SRK and Team FAN director Maneesh Sharma, writer Habib Faisal, prosthetic team VFX team have achieved that with a pure finesse. Editing is crisp. Cinematography is awesome & Action Sequences are very well choreographed. Now the creative part story and screenplay is the backbone of the kudos Habib Faisal for the great work with screenplay and dialogues. Director Maneesh Sharma has shown his brilliance and this is pretty evident in almost all the frame. Lastly SRK what a performance. His portrayal of Gauav and Aryan leaves u in a dichotomy and you don't know which one u like the most. 4.5/5. FAN is a perfect tribute and a gift for all SRK FANS

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 100 people found the following review useful:

#Jabra Movie

9/10
Author: shah_rushabh-37738 from Mumbai
15 April 2016

Just when people had written off Shahrukh Khan - the Actor, his FAN brings him back to his A game. Being an avid SRK FAN, it had to be the First day First Show. And Maneesh Sharma does not disappoint at all... The movie delivers both aspects brilliantly - the extreme level to which an obsessed FAN can go for the STAR he idolisesand what impact it can have on the Star's life... The movie brings to mind the Shahrukh Khan of early days - Baazigar, Darr , Anjam and the likes..... While the over obsessed FAN certainly surprises with the things he does for the Star, the climax certainly leaves you totally shocked and fills you with a bit of sadness... Overall, FAN is a double delight for SRK Fans and should be a good watch for neutrals too!!

Was the above review useful to you?

60 out of 108 people found the following review useful:

SRK is back with a big roar! <3

10/10
Author: Siddhant Saugand from India
15 April 2016

SRK has made a big comeback to the Bolly arena after a series of masala entertainers from the last 4-5 years. One of the best Bollywood thrillers I've watched since the last 5-6 years. Amazing first half, a slight declination in the sub post-interval session, and a brilliant climax which will put you in an ambiguity at the end of the movie and you'll be thinking about it again and again. The plot could have been a slightly better settled though. But I don't think any other movie without any actress in it and devoid of any songs, will be able to keep you glued to your seat throughout the whole 2 and a half hours. Amazing stuff from the Direcor, Maneesh Sharma. You're fabulous! :) Whatever it is, SRK is into one of his best avatars and he shows the world as to why is he called as the "Biggest movie star in the world". Take a bow! Salutes! :) Worth all your money! Go grab your tickets, and watch Fan. :)

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 30:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history