IMDb > Fan (2016/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Fan
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Fan More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 30:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 292 reviews in total 

243 out of 385 people found the following review useful:

Well, it was something. The SRK what I grew up watching

10/10
Author: kamran_3012 from United Arab Emirates
14 April 2016

FAN is Shah Rukh Khan's best performance till date. His Aryan Khanna is Excellent but his Gaurav Chandana is better. This is the SRK I grew up watching. He can't really top this one. Kudos to the VFX and the prosthetic team for the make up. Maneesh Sharma's direction was brilliant. The story is different. The dialogues are very very good. Habib Faisal has done a good job with the dialogues. The costumes are dope for Gaurav . The editing is crisp and the screenplay is Fantastic. The movie has no songs(That was a bummer) The cinematography was exceptional, great locations. Since, the movie is completely focused on Aryan and Gaurav, the supporting cast don't have much to do. It's good seeing a movies like this is being made. Something different.

It won't be a great success at the Box Office as it's a dark movie.

The flaw what I found was the Special Effects in the first Chase Sequence- You'll notice it.

Well one of the best movies SRK has ever acted in. 9ish/10

Was the above review useful to you?

66 out of 94 people found the following review useful:

For every person who is a fan of someone.

10/10
Author: Sultan Bhaijaan from India
15 April 2016

First of all,I must say the movie is outstanding in all aspects.Though I am not a fan of this actor but I should say that he has done a very nice acting in both the roles of Aryan Khanna and Gaurav Chandana. Specially, the role of gaurav chandana as a fan is fabulous. The story is unique in a Bollywood and well scripted too. The screenplay is very well maintained and full of excitement. The only thing I wonder about is that it has very comical scenes in a first half and some darker side and intense scenes full of emotions in a second half. Although it is a good combination and actor well maintained the balance between two roles. I have not seen such a great acting in any of his past movies like dilwale, happy new year and chennai express. But this time, he has done exceptionally well and may be best performance of his life. I would not tell you whole story here. You just go and watch the movie.It is not only for shahrukh khan fans. Everyone of us is a fan of someone.

Was the above review useful to you?

77 out of 118 people found the following review useful:

All hail the king, The actor in SRK.

9/10
Author: madhurmsm-1999 from India
16 April 2016

So FAN isn't your typical run-of-the-mill, commercial potboiler (read: the last couple of SRK films)

It is absurd, psychic, weird, cryptic, and oh-so-darned-intriguing.

The concept is simple "The fans maketh the star", but the execution is complex and just so bamboozling.

There is a reason why Shah Rukh Khan is known for his intense roles. This film brings back the menacing Darr-Baazigar-Anjaam-esque SRK back and he is pure masterclass.

You may love him. You may hate him. But you can't help but admire the guy's acting ability.

The film drags a bit in the second-half, and sways away from reality for a sizeable amount of time, but you can still make do with it.

Aryan Khanna is the name of the narcissistic superstar in the film. But when you come out of the theatre, the immensely insane yet innocent Gaurav Chandana baffles your mind.

This film is not everyone's cup of tea. Some people might deliberately hate it, but hey, that is the persona of SRK. The most polarising actor ever.

Thank You Maneesh Sharma for bringing back "The Actor SRK" whom we desperately missed since My Name Is Khan. Kudos to the team for choosing something so risky and so brave.

Films like these are not made for Huge Box Office Collections, they are made for sheer uniqueness.

You may agree with me. You may disagree with me. All I would like to say is "Rehnede, Tu Nahi Samjhega".

#FAN

Was the above review useful to you?

58 out of 85 people found the following review useful:

Fan is all about SRK

9/10
Author: secretgames21
15 April 2016

Fan is all about SRK, His acting skills we have been talking for so long and we grown watching him, Fan is one of the fantastic display of Shahrukh's on Screen Acting Talent, He surely deserve Best actor nominations and trophy, There are some flaws in the movie but still it keep moving you on..This was the first bollywood movie which got shot in Madam Tussads Museum, There are lot good things to talk about, the chase between SRK and his Fan Gaurav is also impressive, You will not feel bored at any point of time.. So please go ahead and watch the movie I am sure you will have a good thing to watch..

Thanks

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

Fanatic.....Fantastic....FAN!!

9/10
Author: Mir Danish from Kolkata
15 April 2016

Movie review Fanatic.....Fantastic....FAN!! Rarely we see a mainstream Indian film breaking boundaries of the typical stereotype. SRK and Team FAN director Maneesh Sharma, writer Habib Faisal, prosthetic team VFX team have achieved that with a pure finesse. Editing is crisp. Cinematography is awesome & Action Sequences are very well choreographed. Now the creative part story and screenplay is the backbone of the kudos Habib Faisal for the great work with screenplay and dialogues. Director Maneesh Sharma has shown his brilliance and this is pretty evident in almost all the frame. Lastly SRK what a performance. His portrayal of Gauav and Aryan leaves u in a dichotomy and you don't know which one u like the most. 4.5/5. FAN is a perfect tribute and a gift for all SRK FANS

Was the above review useful to you?

51 out of 77 people found the following review useful:

The Movie which unearths the ACTOR SRK.....finally

10/10
Author: Sunny Roy from India
16 April 2016

After a long time, finally a SRK movie that propelled me to take some time out and write up a post.

To begin with, FAN, by no means is a perfect and flawless movie (more on that later), but what the movie has successfully achieved is to unearth the untapped ACTOR out from the catacombs of mediocrity that has thus hindered the transition of THE STAR to an ACTOR.

Director Maneesh Sharma, who also claims to be a big SRK fan himself, surely knows that the general audience wants to see more than rhythmic extension of arms from the MAN who once gave extremely nuanced and balanced portrayals in Swades and CDI. And hereby comes the movie FAN which can be any actor's dream role. From an uncouth and lovable Gaurav Chandana to a shrewd, realistic Aryan Khanna, it was hard to imagine that the same actor did play both the characters and that too with so much attention to detail. There are quite a few scenes that leaves you in awe of the exemplary display of Acting and makes you wonder "where was this SRK hiding for so long?" Kudos to the Director for taking this bold step of making the movie without any songs, heroines or as a matter of fact any comic scenes as well. It is just one man show from beginning to end laced with some superlative performance.

Now coming to the flip side, at least for me, are the 3 exceptionally well designed and seemingly never-ending chase sequences which somewhat dilutes the impact. But again I see others really praising those sequences (so it depends on the taste I assume). Another glaringly noticeable point is the contrastingly different approaches to handle the 1st and 2nd halves. In the first half, the makers tried to keep the narrative as much close to reality as possible but in the 2nd half, Maneesh Sharma played it to the gallery where logic takes a backseat, but the sequences concerned are certainly thrilling and creepy enough to keep you glued to your seats.

Lastly the climax which might receive extreme opinions, but I personally loved the ending.

To conclude, this is not one of the best performance of SRK, rather his career best performance. And the movie might not earn big bucks because of its dark, grim and creepy undertones but will surely earn the love of moviegoers.

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 87 people found the following review useful:

#Jabra Movie

9/10
Author: shah_rushabh-37738 from Mumbai
15 April 2016

Just when people had written off Shahrukh Khan - the Actor, his FAN brings him back to his A game. Being an avid SRK FAN, it had to be the First day First Show. And Maneesh Sharma does not disappoint at all... The movie delivers both aspects brilliantly - the extreme level to which an obsessed FAN can go for the STAR he idolisesand what impact it can have on the Star's life... The movie brings to mind the Shahrukh Khan of early days - Baazigar, Darr , Anjam and the likes..... While the over obsessed FAN certainly surprises with the things he does for the Star, the climax certainly leaves you totally shocked and fills you with a bit of sadness... Overall, FAN is a double delight for SRK Fans and should be a good watch for neutrals too!!

Was the above review useful to you?

60 out of 95 people found the following review useful:

One of the best Bollywood i have seen!!

10/10
Author: Paul Chow from Canada
16 April 2016

To be honest i am not a bollywood fan by any means. I mean i cannot handle all those songs, and fighting scenes with the mushy gushy love things that never seem to happen in real life. Today was actually the first time that i went to watch a movie in a theatre for a bollywood movie. I will say that i did watch bollywood movies before (on DVD), but most of them were beyond my thinking. For example Prem Ratan Dhan Payo - which was the worst movie till date, oh i almost forgot Dilwale. So it was a great experience to see Bollywood establish itself this year by directing and producing movies that are different and that doesn't follow commercial success.

I did not know who Shah Rukh Khan was, i mean here in Canada the only people we know is our sports stars or Hollywood superstars. Never really cared about Bollywood, but this movie opened my eyes. Doing some research i figured out that Shah Rukh Khan is the biggest star in the world and i was hell shocked. I guess he really deserves that because his acting is superb.

A good actor is a person that brings out the emotions and he just did that. If his duplicate would cry, i would cry. If he was happy, i felt happy. I really want to applaud him on that.

The story too me was 8/10, other 2 was for his acting. The first half is very engaging and touching. A person does not want to leave to the bathroom because they didn't want to miss anything. Second half was OK, some unreal stuff happen but i can live with that because who knows, maybe this events could happen. It kind of is inspired from that baseball fan movie thing. I would know i love the San Fransisco Giants.

Its a great one time watch, everyone should go and just try something new. I am not too sure why people are giving this a 1 star because i know to me on a person bases this is the BEST bollywood movie i have ever seen

Was the above review useful to you?

60 out of 95 people found the following review useful:

SRK is back with a big roar! <3

10/10
Author: Siddhant Saugand from India
15 April 2016

SRK has made a big comeback to the Bolly arena after a series of masala entertainers from the last 4-5 years. One of the best Bollywood thrillers I've watched since the last 5-6 years. Amazing first half, a slight declination in the sub post-interval session, and a brilliant climax which will put you in an ambiguity at the end of the movie and you'll be thinking about it again and again. The plot could have been a slightly better settled though. But I don't think any other movie without any actress in it and devoid of any songs, will be able to keep you glued to your seat throughout the whole 2 and a half hours. Amazing stuff from the Direcor, Maneesh Sharma. You're fabulous! :) Whatever it is, SRK is into one of his best avatars and he shows the world as to why is he called as the "Biggest movie star in the world". Take a bow! Salutes! :) Worth all your money! Go grab your tickets, and watch Fan. :)

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

This ones' not a movie. Its a faith restoration act by SRK!

9/10
Author: shravansingh2491 from India
18 April 2016

When Shahrukh Khan signed this movie back in early 2014, HNY was about 6 months far and he had not even signed Dilwale that time. It was only due to absorbing effort required to finish the movie ,precisely being the involvement of prosthetics and heavy usage of VFX effects, it took close to 2 years to complete the project. Between this, Shahrukh khan gave us two of his most ridiculous, rubbish, silly, absurd and foolish movies HNY & Dilwale. These movies completely stole the faith his fans had in him and started to write him off which was quite justified. Because, this was not the Shahrukh Khan we all had grew up watching, surely not the one whom we adored him in movies like Swades & Chak De India. But amidst all this, I would not still blame Shahrukh Khan to the colossal entirety. It was the selection of directors by his production unit who are to be blamed for coming up with up such shoddy & half baked scripts. I would not refrain to say that Rohit Shetty & Farah Khan wasted three productive years of SRK. Given the fact the accumulated earnings of three movies Chennai Exp, HNY & Dilwale comes to around Rs 1500 Crores , his production company might have had tasted real financial success, but SRK in person in reality ended up incurring heavy losses in terms of depletion of his loyal fan base. Those fans who trusted him , trusted his skills, trusted his prowess and treated him as no less than living Almighty.

The very fact that SRK has always been a quality actor and his caliber is not worthy to be doubted gets proved because it was way before he got too commercialized, he had signed this movie. He is and always been a hard-working, dedicated & thorough professional and all he needed was a bunch of equally talented team of directors, script writers. It was the lack of efficient directors who led us deplete faith in him as an actor. We all started to doubt him as an actor and brought him on the brink of getting written off for eternity. And while the same was under process, we have been served with this brilliant, astonishing ,magnificent, glorious and breathtaking piece of cinematic display of acting prowess from the same man who we all were planning and waiting to write off!

Yes, FAN is such one movie which would help you restore your faith in SRK as an actor. The movie is not worthy for watching for its story or dialogues or screenplay or actor or VFX effects. One needs to watch this movie simply just to rebuild that lost confidence in Shahrukh Khan as an actor. The actor who holds a phenomenal record of winning Best actor award for record 8 times currently being shared with Veteran Actor Dilip Kumar. The actor who rose to stardom solely based on his acting skills, intense screen presence, sheer hard work and discipline.

FAN is not the greatest of the movies to come out in recent times and would surely not even in feature in Best 5 eventual movies of 2016. But it is the power packed display of skills, effervescence, energy, dedication, commitment, marvellous acting of Shahrukh Khan that which would always be remembered for years to come. At a demanding age of 50 ,his portrayal of Gaurav Chandna as crazy obsessive fan would surely put many 25 years old to acceptable shame.

To all those who are expecting the movie to be humorous, funny and an entertaining, please do not expect such things to happen. The movie is extremely intense, thrilling and jaw dropping!

10/10 for SRK -1/10 for Movie script (They could have made it little more entertaining)

Final Rating : 9/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 30:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history