IMDb > "The Good Fight" (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"The Good Fight"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"The Good Fight" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 35 reviews in total 

30 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

An edgier version of The Good Wife

Author: Time Warbler from Ontario, Canada
20 February 2017

It was a pleasant surprise to see a spin off of The Good Wife. In general, (in my opinion) I find them to be lackluster and solely rely on one character from the original series.

The Good Fight is a breath of fresh air, bringing in the supporting cast of the original in the 1st episode with cameo appearances from actors that had minor recurring roles in The Good wife. IE - Hon Judge Abernathy aka Russel Edgington from True Blood in the 2nd episode.

While I admit it seems a little odd not to have the great Julianna Margulies in the follow up series, the use of profanity caught me off guard coming from The Women's Network, which is where I watched the episodes. I will say it did encourage me to watch it further, as to my recollection, beefing up the language and not bleeping it out, has never been done before.

All in all, I think it has the potential to last as long as The Good Wife, It surely has a strong female cast, all heroines in their own right, which I would expect nothing less from the network I saw it on.

Looking forward to the next episode.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Not just OK...GREAT!

10/10
Author: bbianchi-90175 from Hamilton, Canada
23 February 2017

Edgy, intelligent, relatable, thoroughly entertaining. 2 episodes in and eagerly awaiting the 3rd.

Each character brings their own to the atmosphere of diversity yet familiarity from the parent show, The Good Wife.

Unlike most spin-offs, The Good Fight has retained the drama yet upped the ante with cheekier scripting and surprise casting.

A welcome addition to this seasons rather blah line-up of other situation dramas.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Love it!

10/10
Author: lucja-01154 from Ontario Canada
8 March 2017

What a great show! You never know what to expect next. So refreshing from some of the current shows airing on TV. Just love this one. I can't wait for the next show to air. Keep up the great work. Wonderful! For such a long time there was nothing to watch on TV. This show finally came to our homes with such intrigue! A very long time coming but well worth the wait. The cast is Great! What more can be said!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Just like the good wife if not better

7/10
Author: joseph_poulter
2 March 2017

There was something missing in my life and when this show came out I knew what it was...the good wife...after years of being so loyal to the show i was so let down when it ended...(and I have to point out it didn't end how I thought it should or could have)

Then BAM the good fight arrives and yes it sure is...the show gives a great fight as a spin off...probably one of the best yet.

It's early days yet but if it keeps up with the amazing dialogue then we have a winner people.

Love the original characters and very keen to see how the new ones develop.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

One of the best drama series of today!

10/10
Author: Irvin Tang from China
26 March 2017

This series proves that you don't need great special effects to make a great drama show and it's one of the best out there. It also includes relevant social commentaries within its stories with great acting and excellent background music with each important scenes. The directors, writers and actors should be proud of what they accomplished and we the viewers are blessed that such a show exists.

This is nothing less than perfection. I put it up there in the same league as with walking dead, game of thrones and westworld. It may not have the same special effects but the stories, character development and drama is on the same level if not more.

If you like dramas at all, watch this series!

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Great for the PC crowd

6/10
Author: jerseyjoea from United States
18 March 2017

It's like The Good Wife married The Jeffersons and let's cover all the bases and throw in some lesbians maybe a splash of a few gay guys. Also let's not forget to slam President Trump every chance we could.Let's make sure we hurt no ones feeling and we can all sing kumbaya.Try to keep the show real and not try to please everyone or you please no one.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Pretty Decent, but

7/10
Author: gdholm from United States
21 February 2017

Pretty good show, especially compared to what else is available these days. I actually preferred the story without the political drama from Alicia and the Governor. Does seem the writers have a couple of agendas they have committed to, but as long as the story and acting are good I can look past that stuff.

However, the first show is the only one I have watched because I refuse to pay the fee and agree to email ads from CBS and "partners" to be able to watch the show on line. I pay enough already for satellite TV.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

****

10/10
Author: edwagreen from United States
19 February 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Highest rating is given to this spin-off from the acclaimed The Good Wife, which unfortunately ended its very successful run last season.

Diane Lockhart, Christine Baranski, was superb here as she first witnesses the swearing in of President Trump and then announces her retirement from the firm.

A young associate comes to work for the firm whose parents are prominent people and friends to Diane. Go know that the father was a take-off on Bernie Madoff and Diane soon finds herself practically broke and unable to secure employment in another law firm. She is now regarded as a piranha as she had encouraged people to invest with the thief.

We see the young associate demoralized and Cush Jumbo comes to her rescue. Though they're on opposing sides of a lawsuit regarding alleged police brutality, Cush tells the girl, a lesbian, to stand tough as the allegations swirl around herself and the entire family.

Diane warns her husband to divorce her in order to avoid his accounts being frozen, but he seems adamant not to do so. Shall a reconciliation between the two be coming?

What the usual senile Howard says after he learns that a black law firm wants Diane to join them is disgusting, but unfortunately stated only too many unfortunate times.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

So good!

8/10
Author: ashwathi87 from Abu Dhabi
1 March 2017

The end of Good Wife and the beginning of the Good Fight! Christine Baranski,is a joy to watch and she definitely holds her own in this spin off! Love seeing the characters from Good Wife pop up every now and then! LI have a feeling this is going to be even more promising in terms of character build up and story line, it definitely helps that there is a a talented set of actors associated.

Give this a shot if your missing your fix of the Good Wife.Highly recommended!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

10 seconds

1/10
Author: Bryan Tull from United States
12 April 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

10 seconds. That's all it took for me to turn this off and rate it 1 star. That's gotta be some kind of record. Alienate half the US population by showing a girl staring in disbelief at a TV screen, listening to Trump taking the oath of office. That seems like a surefire way of bringing in viewers, the dumb ones at least. Liberals just can't get over it. Stop whining and live your life.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history