IMDb > "The Good Fight" (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"The Good Fight"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"The Good Fight" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 25 reviews in total 

16 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

An edgier version of The Good Wife

Author: Time Warbler from Ontario, Canada
20 February 2017

It was a pleasant surprise to see a spin off of The Good Wife. In general, (in my opinion) I find them to be lackluster and solely rely on one character from the original series.

The Good Fight is a breath of fresh air, bringing in the supporting cast of the original in the 1st episode with cameo appearances from actors that had minor recurring roles in The Good wife. IE - Hon Judge Abernathy aka Russel Edgington from True Blood in the 2nd episode.

While I admit it seems a little odd not to have the great Julianna Margulies in the follow up series, the use of profanity caught me off guard coming from The Women's Network, which is where I watched the episodes. I will say it did encourage me to watch it further, as to my recollection, beefing up the language and not bleeping it out, has never been done before.

All in all, I think it has the potential to last as long as The Good Wife, It surely has a strong female cast, all heroines in their own right, which I would expect nothing less from the network I saw it on.

Looking forward to the next episode.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Not just OK...GREAT!

10/10
Author: bbianchi-90175 from Hamilton, Canada
23 February 2017

Edgy, intelligent, relatable, thoroughly entertaining. 2 episodes in and eagerly awaiting the 3rd.

Each character brings their own to the atmosphere of diversity yet familiarity from the parent show, The Good Wife.

Unlike most spin-offs, The Good Fight has retained the drama yet upped the ante with cheekier scripting and surprise casting.

A welcome addition to this seasons rather blah line-up of other situation dramas.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Pretty Decent, but

7/10
Author: gdholm from United States
21 February 2017

Pretty good show, especially compared to what else is available these days. I actually preferred the story without the political drama from Alicia and the Governor. Does seem the writers have a couple of agendas they have committed to, but as long as the story and acting are good I can look past that stuff.

However, the first show is the only one I have watched because I refuse to pay the fee and agree to email ads from CBS and "partners" to be able to watch the show on line. I pay enough already for satellite TV.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

****

10/10
Author: edwagreen from United States
19 February 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Highest rating is given to this spin-off from the acclaimed The Good Wife, which unfortunately ended its very successful run last season.

Diane Lockhart, Christine Baranski, was superb here as she first witnesses the swearing in of President Trump and then announces her retirement from the firm.

A young associate comes to work for the firm whose parents are prominent people and friends to Diane. Go know that the father was a take-off on Bernie Madoff and Diane soon finds herself practically broke and unable to secure employment in another law firm. She is now regarded as a piranha as she had encouraged people to invest with the thief.

We see the young associate demoralized and Cush Jumbo comes to her rescue. Though they're on opposing sides of a lawsuit regarding alleged police brutality, Cush tells the girl, a lesbian, to stand tough as the allegations swirl around herself and the entire family.

Diane warns her husband to divorce her in order to avoid his accounts being frozen, but he seems adamant not to do so. Shall a reconciliation between the two be coming?

What the usual senile Howard says after he learns that a black law firm wants Diane to join them is disgusting, but unfortunately stated only too many unfortunate times.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Love it!

10/10
Author: lucja-01154 from Ontario Canada
8 March 2017

What a great show! You never know what to expect next. So refreshing from some of the current shows airing on TV. Just love this one. I can't wait for the next show to air. Keep up the great work. Wonderful! For such a long time there was nothing to watch on TV. This show finally came to our homes with such intrigue! A very long time coming but well worth the wait. The cast is Great! What more can be said!

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Now that Suits became unbearable, you can take your dose of legal drama with this.

7/10
Author: Dr_Sagan from the Edge of the Cosmos
20 February 2017

Managing partner of a big legal firm Diane Lockhart (Christine Baranski) was about to retire and to live her remaining years with luxury and peace. Her last obligation was to support the first steps of her god-daughter (Rose Leslie) as an associate in her firm. Unfortunately the things didn't go as it supposed and both women are facing a fate they couldn't ever imagine (and also didn't reserved it).

The premise is interesting, the script and dialogues good and Christine Baranski's performance is great as the mighty lawyer who had fall. Pay attention especially to her breathing and microexpressions as she learns some bad news...

Just saw the pilot, and I'm up to see the 2nd episode with anticipation.

So, far the legal drama per se isn't such a major part of the show but I'm pretty sure this will change in the upcoming episodes.

Now that Suits infiltrate so much "buddy" elements among the 3 male leads, making it unbearable for many fans, you can check this series for legal drama and some powerful characters.

P.S. A spin-off of "The good wife", maybe better.

.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Just like the good wife if not better

7/10
Author: joseph_poulter
2 March 2017

There was something missing in my life and when this show came out I knew what it was...the good wife...after years of being so loyal to the show i was so let down when it ended...(and I have to point out it didn't end how I thought it should or could have)

Then BAM the good fight arrives and yes it sure is...the show gives a great fight as a spin off...probably one of the best yet.

It's early days yet but if it keeps up with the amazing dialogue then we have a winner people.

Love the original characters and very keen to see how the new ones develop.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Great for the PC crowd

6/10
Author: jerseyjoea from United States
18 March 2017

It's like The Good Wife married The Jeffersons and let's cover all the bases and throw in some lesbians maybe a splash of a few gay guys. Also let's not forget to slam President Trump every chance we could.Let's make sure we hurt no ones feeling and we can all sing kumbaya.Try to keep the show real and not try to please everyone or you please no one.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

After two episodes...

9/10
Author: gherota from Oz
21 February 2017

Yep folks, i'll give 9 out of 10 ... i dunno why , maybe just not to look too generous... But boy... that Lucca Quinn played by Cush Jumbo , now that's a powerful act . Just for telling that abusive chap to "F..k off ! ", i mean the way she told it , deserve a Globe . And the rest , is as usual, all chaps and chapettes play really well, the rest of the crew - directors, writers, make ups, etc.- is up to the highest standards of course, and i can say that show will come well placed after Boston Legal and the first and maybe second season of the Suits. I wish them good luck and Break a Leg.

Was the above review useful to you?

The Good Fight

6/10
Author: pcollins-02776 from Langley
19 March 2017

I've watched all of the Good Wife. This series seem OK so far.The only thing I personally don't like is the swearing i don't believe it belongs and I do swear it just docent fit. It seems they over use the word f@#$k.See i cant even write it hear so why is it on the show.I hope they slowly go back to the language they used in the Good Wife and Possibly bring Carey into it.To much to hope for Alicia.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history